Pedro Martins

guitar, voice | Brasilien
Live Artist

Der brasilianische Gitarrist Pedro Martins gils als einer der vielversprechendsten Musiker der neuen Generation. In seinem neuesten musikalischen Projekt - dem Album VOX - kreiert der in Brasília geborene Künstler einen Jazz-Fusion-Sound mit tiefen brasilianischen Hintergrundelementen und Rock / Pop-Sensibilität. Seit 2017 tourt Pedro Martins als Mitglied der Caipi Band von Kurt Rosenwinkel. 2017 veröffentlicht Heartcore Records - das unabhängige Label von Kurt Rosenwinkel - ihr erstes Album. Rosenwinkel wird von internationalen Künstlern von unbestreitbarer Qualität wie dem Saxophonisten Mark Turner und dem Rock / Blues-Gitarristen Eric Clapton begleitet. Das Album haben Kritiker und Publikum gleichermaßen gelobt. 2017 wurde Martins zum Kurator des 50. SWR NEWJazz-Meeting in Deutschland ernannt - als erster südamerikanischer Künstler, der diese Position seit der Gründung im Jahr 1966 innehatte. Der legendäre Gitarrist Eric Clapton lud die Band ein, seine 2021 European Tour zu eröffnen. Bereits im September 2019 erhielten Caipi und das Duo von Pedro Martins & Daniel Santiago eine Einladung zum prestigeträchtigen Crossroads Guitar Festival von Clapton in Dallas (USA).
Zusätzlich zu diesen Projekten hat Pedro Martins schon mit mehreren großartigeren Jazzmusikern zusammengearbeitet, darunter Aufnahmen und Konzerte mit Michael Pipoquinha, Jacob Collier, Knower, Genevieve Artadi (expensive magnets), Scott Kinsey, Thundercat, Al Jarreau, Toninho Horta und Hamilton de Holanda.

Mit seiner eigenen Veröffentlichung VOX, erschienen 2019 auf Kurt Rosenwinkel’s Label „Heartcore Records“, erspielt er sich schließlich auch als Leader die Anerkennung, die Pedro Martins verdient. Die Mitwirkung von Brad Mehldau und Chris Potter bekräftigen Martins Ausnahmestatus. Seine Musik klingt erfrischend und ehrlich. Trotz Melancholie und Drama bleibt eine dominierende Leichtigkeit erhalten. Die Kunst des Songwriting wird ebenso bedient wie Virtuosität und Mut zum Anecken. Zeitgenössischer Brasil-Jazz also... VOX zeigt Martins multi-Instrumentalistische Fähigkeiten. Auf dem Album spielt er Gitarre, Klavier / Synthesizer, Bass, Schlagzeug, Percussion, Flöte und singt in einem wunderschönen, seraphischen Falsett. Er ist auch der Hauptkomponist, Arrangeur und schrieb die meisten Texte des Albums. „Die-ses Album ist wie ein Buch mit Geschichten, die in meinem Leben passiert sind, und was man dort hört, ist meine innere Stimme, die diese Geschichten mit musikalischen Mitteln erzählt“, sagt Pedro Martins. So ist VOX eine zutiefst persönliche und komplexe musikalische Reise, die den Zuhörer in Martins Klangwelt und persönliche Historie mitnimmt.

Adam Forkelid (keys), Jas Kayser (drums), Pedro Martins (guitar, voice), Robin Mullarkey (bass)

Die Caipi Band des Jazzgitarrenvirtuosen Kurt Rosenwinkel ist eine Feier brasilianischer Musik, die seit einem Jahrzehnt im Entstehen ist. In dieser Band spielt der Künstler nicht nur Gitarre, sondern singt auch zum ersten Mal. An seiner Seite ein fantastisches Team von Musikern, darunter ein weiteres Supertalent an der Gitarre, Pedro Martins. Rosenwinkel lernte den in Brasilien geborenen Pedro Martins beim Montreux Jazz Competition 2015 kennen, bei dem der jüngere Musiker zum besten E-Gitarristen gekürt wurde. Kurt Rosenwinkel und Pedro Martins touren seitdem zusammen auf der ganzen Welt. Im September 2019 trat die Band beim renommierten Crossroads Guitar Festival von Eric Clapton auf. In jüngerer Zeit wurde Caipi eingeladen, Claptons European Tour 2022 zu eröffnen. Caipi kann berauschend sein - und nicht nur das Getränk. Im Herbst 2021 werden Kurt Rosenwinkel und Pedro Martins mit der DR Bigband in Dänemark auftreten.

Pedro Martins (guitar, voice), Kurt Rosenwinkel (guitar), Olivia Trummer (piano)

29.08.2021 PL - Bydgoszcy // Eljazz Club Pedro Martins | VOX Buy Tickets
30.08.2021 DE - Berlin // Donau115 Pedro Martins | VOX
01.09.2021 DE - Köln // Expensive Magnets (w/ Genevieve Artadi, Louis Cole & Chris Fishman)) // Cologne Jazzweek Pedro Martins | VOX Buy Tickets
02.09.2021 DE - Köln // Cologne Jazzweek Pedro Martins | VOX Buy Tickets
02.10.2021 DK - Copenhagen // Kurt Rosenwinkel & DR Big Band w/ Pedro Martins // DR Koncerthuset Kurt Rosenwinkel | CAIPI Buy Tickets
03.10.2021 DK - Aabenraa // Kurt Rosenwinkel & DR Big Band w/ Pedro Martins // Gazzvaerket Kurt Rosenwinkel | CAIPI Buy Tickets
14.10.2021 SE - Uppsala // Uppsala International Guitar Festival Pedro Martins | VOX Buy Tickets
15.10.2021 EE - Viljandi // Viljandi Guitar Festival Pedro Martins | VOX
17.10.2021 CH - Muri // Musig im Pflegidach Pedro Martins | VOX
30.10.2021 SE - Umeå // Umeå Jazzfestival Pedro Martins | VOX

Pedro Martins

guitar, voice | Brazil
Live Artist

The Brazilian guitar player Pedro Martins is one of the most promising musicians of the new generation. In his latest musical endeavor – the album VOX – the Brasília-born artist dreams up a jazz fusion sound infused with deep Brazilian background elements and rock/pop sensibilities. Since 2017, Pedro Martins has toured as a featured member of Kurt Rosenwinkel’s Caipi Band. In 2017, Heartcore Records – the independent label created by Kurt Rosenwinkel – released their first album. Accompanying Rosenwinkel are international artists of undeniable quality such as saxophonist Mark Turner and rock/blues guitarist Eric Clapton. The album has received universal praise from critics and audiences alike. Legendary guitarist Eric Clapton invited the band to open his 2021 European Tour. Already in September 2019, Caipi and the duo of Pedro Martins & Daniel Santiago recieved an invitation to perform at the Clapton’s prestigious Crossroads Guitar Festival in Dallas (USA), marking the first Brazilian appearance at the event.
In addition to these projects, Pedro Martins has worked with a number of great jazz musicians including recordings and concerts with Michael Pipoquinha, Jacob Collier, Knower, Genevieve Artadi (expensive magnets), Scott Kinsey, Thundercat, Al Jarreau, Toninho Horta and Hamilton de Holanda.

With his own release VOX, published in 2019 on Kurt Rosenwinkel's label "Heartcore Records", Pedro Martins eventually earns the recognition he deserves as a bandleader. The involvement of Brad Mehldau and Chris Potter supports Martin's standing as a jazz-artist in the scene. His music sounds refreshing and honest. Doesn’t pretend to be anything else but what it is. Music to get lost in. Despite melancholy and drama, a dominating lightness remains. The art of songwriting is served as well as virtuosity and the right amount of edge.Vox features Martin’s prolific multi instrumental capacities; On this record he plays guitar, piano/synths, bass, drums, percussion, flute and sings in a beautiful seraphic falsetto. He is also the principle composer, arranger, and wrote most of the lyrics on the record. All together, VOX is a deeply personal and complex journey where the listener is invited to join Martins in his wonderful world of sound and story. “This album is like a book of stories that happened in my life, and what you can hear there is actually my inner voice narrating those stories through the medium of music” says Pedro Martins.

Adam Forkelid (keys), Jas Kayser (drums), Pedro Martins (guitar, voice), Robin Mullarkey (bass)

Jazz guitar virtuoso Kurt Rosenwinkel’s Caipi band is a celebration of Brazilian music that has been a decade in the making. In this band, the artist not only plays but also sings for the first time. At his side, a fantastic team of musicians, amongst them, another super-talent on the guitar, Pedro Martins. Rosenwinkel met the Brazilian-born Pedro Martins at the 2015 Montreux Jazz Competition, where the younger musician was crowned best electric-guitar player. Kurt Rosenwinkel and Pedro Martins have been touring all over the world together. In September 2019, the band performed at Eric Clapton’s prestigious Crossroads Guitar Festival. More recently, Caipi was invited to open Clapton’s 2022 European Tour. Caipi can be intoxicating - and not just the drink. During fall 2021, Kurt Rosenwinkel and Pedro Martins will perform with the DR Bigband in Denmark.

Pedro Martins (guitar, voice), Kurt Rosenwinkel (guitar), Olivia Trummer (piano)

02.10.2021 DK - Copenhagen // Kurt Rosenwinkel & DR Big Band w/ Pedro Martins // DR Koncerthuset Kurt Rosenwinkel | CAIPI Buy Tickets
03.10.2021 DK - Aabenraa // Kurt Rosenwinkel & DR Big Band w/ Pedro Martins // Gazzvaerket Kurt Rosenwinkel | CAIPI Buy Tickets
14.10.2021 SE - Uppsala // Uppsala International Guitar Festival Pedro Martins | VOX Buy Tickets
15.10.2021 EE - Viljandi // Viljandi Guitar Festival Pedro Martins | VOX Buy Tickets
17.10.2021 CH - Muri // Musig im Pflegidach Pedro Martins | VOX Buy Tickets
30.10.2021 SE - Umeå // Umeå Jazzfestival Pedro Martins | VOX Buy Tickets